University of Lapland

University of Lapland

Rovaniemi is the capital and economic center of Lapland, Finland’s northernmost province. The city is situated close to the Arctic Circle and located between the mountains Ounasvaara and Korkalovaara. In the year 1453 it was mentioned officially for the first time when it existed in the form of several small villages, whose inhabitants lived from farming, fishing and hunting. The development of mineral resources of Lapland in the 19th century also accelerated the development of Rovaniemi and especially the gold rush has attracted thousands of people.

Rovaniemi

Due to the beautiful and unspoiled nature with its numerous recreational areas tourism is an important economic factor nowadays. Therefore, a wide variety of hotels and restaurants is located in and around the center of Rovaniemi. The Jätkänkynttilä bridge and Artikum House, a museum about the polar regions of Finland and the world, rank among the best known attractions. Lapland is also known as the Land of the Northern Lights. 200 of them are visible each year, whereas there are at most 20 in the south of Finland. Approximately 10,000 of the 63,000 inhabitants of Rovaniemi are students. Not only the University of Lapland but also the Rovaniemi University of Applied Sciences is located in the city. The latter covers institutions of information technology, economics, forestry and Sport Sciences among others.

University of Lapland

The University of Lapland is an international and multidisciplinary institution. Priorities in research and education are tourism, art, design, legal, education and social sciences. The University supports the economy and society in the north of Finland with its research and educational and artistic programmes. In particular, the multidisciplinary Artic Centre performs internationally recognized and groundbreaking research projects with regard to the interaction between people and the environment of the Arctic and presents the results to viewers during periodical exhibitions.

One in four Finnish lawyers, one in three university graduates in Arts and Design and nearly ten percent of the social scientists and pedagogues completed their studies at the University of Lapland.

By the way: an accommodation in a student residence at the University is guaranteed to exchange students if the application is received in time. For more information about the university and the local life can be found on the homepage of the University of Lapland.

Academic year:
– Winter semester from early September to the end of December
– Summer semester from early January to late May
– No major holiday period between winter- and summer semester

Academic language: English

IT and IP-related courses:
– Copyright Law
– Intellectual Property Rights in Media and Cultural Industries – An Introduction
– Introduction to the Legal Informatics
– Information Law and Information Technology Law
– Legal Information
– Privacy, Data Protection and Data Security
– Supplementary Course of Legal Informatics
– Developing E-Servics and E-Government

University of Lapland

Rovaniemi ist Hauptstadt und wirtschaftliches Zentrum von Lappland, Finnlands nördlichster Provinz. Nah am Polarkreis gelegen, befindet sich die Stadt zwischen den Bergen Ounasvaara und Korkalovaara. Offiziell 1453 zum ersten Mal erwähnt, existierte sie in Form mehrerer kleiner Dörfer, deren Einwohner von Landwirtschaft, Fischerei und Jagd lebten. Während die Erschließung von Lapplands Bodenschätzen im 19. Jahrhundert Rovaniemis Entwicklung beschleunigte, hat das Goldfieber tausende Menschen angelockt.

Rovaniemi

Aufgrund der wunderschönen und unberührten Natur mit ihren zahlreichen Erholungsgebieten ist der Tourismus heutzutage ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor. Daher befinden sich in und um Rovaniemis Zentrum eine Vielzahl von Hotels und Restaurantes. Zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten gehören die Jätkänkynttilä Brücke und das Artikum House, ein Museum über die Polarregionen Finlands und der Welt. Lappland ist außerdem als das Land der Nordlichter bekannt. Jährlich kann man mehr als 200 von ihnen beobachten, während es im Süden Finlands höchstens 20 sind. Ungefähr 10.000 der ca. 63.000 Einwohner Rovaniemis sind Studenten. Die Stadt beherbergt nicht nur die Universität von Lappland, sondern auch die Rovaniemi University für angewandte Wissenschaften. Letztere beinhaltet Institute u.a. für Informationstechnologie, Wirtschaft, Forstwirtschaft und Sportwissenschaften.

Universität Lappland

Die Universität Lappland ist eine internationale und multidisziplinäre Institution. Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre sind Tourismus, Kunst, Design, Recht, Pädagogik und Sozialwissenschaften.
Die Universität unterstützt mit ihrer Forschung sowie ihren Bildungs- und Kunstangeboten Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft in Finnlands Norden. Insbesondere das multidisziplinäre Artic Centre führt international anerkannte und wegweisende Forschungsprojekte hinsichtlich der Wechselwirkung zwischen den Menschen und der Umwelt der Arktis durch und stellt die Ergebnisse Zuschauern im Rahmen von regelmäßigen Ausstellungen vor.

Jeder vierte finnische Jurist und jeder dritte Universitätsabsolvent in Kunst und Design sowie fast zehn Prozent der Sozialwissenschaftler und Pädagogen haben ihr Studium an der Universität von Lappland abgeschlossen.

Übrigens: Austauschstudenten wird eine Unterkunft im Studentenwohnheim der Universität garantiert, wenn die Bewerbung dafür rechtzeitig eingeht. Weitere Informationen über die Universität und das Leben vor Ort erhalten Sie auf der Homepage der University of Lapland.

Semesterzeiten:
– Wintersemester von Anfang September bis Ende Dezember
– Sommersemester von Anfang Januar bis Ende Mai
– Keine längere Ferienzeit zwischen Winter – und Sommersemester

Studiensprache: Englisch

Kurse mit IT- und IP-Bezug:
– Copyright Law
– Intellectual Property Rights in Media and Cultural Industries – An Introduction
– Introduction to the Legal Informatics
– Information Law and Information Technology Law
– Legal Information
– Privacy, Data Protection and Data Security
– Supplementary Course of Legal Informatics
– Developing E-Servics and E-Government