Kyushu University

Fukuoka is the largest city on the southernmost Japanese main island Kyushu and with 1.49 million inhabitants the eighth largest city in Japan. It is located the 33rd line of latitude and thus on the same as Los Angeles or Shanghai. Therefore, the city´s climate is comparable to the climate of Southern Europe, except for the months of June/July, when it usually rains because of the summer monsoon. In accordance to discoveries the north of the island of Kyushu, where Fukuoka is located, is already inhabited since the 4th century. B.C.. Therefore, the city can look back on a long history.7272128344_f14ba2422c_c

(Bildquelle: Kouki Kuriyama; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

Across Hakata

(Bildquelle: heiwa4126 ; Bild steht unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz.)

Fukuoka offers a lot historical and modern of sights, such as the 234 meter high Fukuoka Tower, which is the highest coastal tower in Japan, or the Ohori Park, one of the most famous parks in Japan, which adjoins a large pond and offers opportunities for jogging and boating. In addition, in Fukuoka one can find many more shrines, temples or ruins, such as the ruins of Fukuoka. It is located right next to the Ohori Park and provides information over the life of the 16th century. The museum Marine World is another highlight as it is home to more than 7,000 underwater creatures and is therefore suitable for a visit to anyone interested. The northern part of the city offers a variety of leisure activities for students. There are many bars, restaurants, nightclubs and shopping centers. An indicator for the city´s high quality of life is Fukuoka´s ranking on the 14th position of the list of the 25th most livable cities in 2010.

Kyushu University

The Kyushu University derives from the imperial era university and ranks among the most prestigious universities in Japan. The Institution was originally founded as a medical school and was transferred into an Imperial University in 1911 consisting of only two faculties: medicine and engineering. In 1924 the Faculty of Law and Humanities were added. Meanwhile, the university has 13 faculties and is known to pursue an early opening and internationalization of its students. Today, about 18,500 students attend the programs of the Kyshuhu University.

More information can be found on the homepage of the Kyushu University, and in particular at the comments about the Campus Life.

Academic year:
– Winter semester from early October until the end of February
– Summer semester from early April until the end of July

Acadenic language: English

IT and IP-related courses:
– Intellectual Property and Private International Law
– Creative Economy, Innovation and Law
– Contemporary Issues in Intellectual Property Laws – A Social Networking Perspective

Kyushu University

Fukuoka ist die größte Stadt auf der südlichsten japanischen Hauptinsel Kyushu und mit 1,49 Millionen Einwohner die achtgrößte Stadt Japans. Sie liegt auf dem 33. Breitengrad und damit gleich wie Los Angeles oder Shanghai, weshalb das Klima in der Stadt auch dem in Südeuropa gleicht, abgesehen von den Monaten Juni/Juli, wo meist aufgrund des Sommermonsuns Regenzeit herrscht. Der Norden der Insel Kyushu, wo auch Fukuoka liegt, ist bereits seit dem 4. Jhd. v. C. besiedelt, wie es durch Funde belegt ist. Die Stadt kann also auf eine lange Geschichte zurückblicken.7272128344_f14ba2422c_c

(Bildquelle: Kouki Kuriyama; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

Across Hakata
(Bildquelle: heiwa4126 ; Bild steht unter einer Creative-Commons-Lizenz.)

Fukuoka bietet zahlreiche Sehenswürdigkeiten der Geschichte und Moderne wie z.B. den 234 Meter hohen Fukuoka Tower, welcher der höchste Küstenturm Japans ist, oder den Ohori-Park, einen der berühmtesten Parks Japans, der an einen großen Teich anschließt und Möglichkeiten zum Joggen und Bootfahren bietet. Außerdem findet man in Fukuoka viele weitere Schreine, Tempel oder Ruinen, beispielsweise die Burgruine Fukuoka, die direkt neben den Ohori-Park gelegen über die Lebensweise des 16. Jahrhunderts informiert. Das Museum Marine World ist ein weiteres Highlight, schließlich beherbergt es über 7000 Unterwasser-Lebewesen und ist somit für jeden Interessierten einen Besuch wert. Der Norden der Stadt hält auch für Studenten einige Möglichkeiten der Freizeitbeschäftigung bereit. Hier gibt es viele Bars, Restaurants, Diskotheken und Shopping-Center. Für die hohe Lebensqualität der Stadt spricht zudem, dass Fukuoka 2010 in der Liste der 25 lebenswertesten Städte auf Platz 14 landete.

Universität Kyushu

Die Universität Kyushu ist eine noch aus der Kaiserzeit stammende Universität, die zu den angesehensten Hochschulen Japans zählt. Ursprünglich als medizinische Schule gegründet, wurde diese 1911 zur kaiserlichen Universität, damals zunächst nur mit zwei Fakultäten: Medizin und Ingenieurwissenschaften. 1924 folgte dann die Fakultät für Rechts- und Geisteswissenschaften. Mittlerweile hat die Universität 13 Fakultäten und ist dafür bekannt, schon früh eine Öffnung und Internationalisierung ihrer Studenten zu verfolgen. Heutzutage besuchen ca. 18.500 Studenten die Universität Kyshuhu.

Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Homepage der Kyushu University, insbesondere auf den Ausführungen zum Campus Life.

Den Erfahrungsbericht eines LL.B.-Studierenden, der bereits in Japan sein Auslandsjahr verbracht hat, finden Sie hier.

Semesterzeiten:
– Wintersemester von Anfang Oktober bis Ende Februar
– Sommersemester von Anfang April bis Ende Juli

Studiensprache: Englisch

Kurse mit IT- und IP-Bezug:
– Intellectual Property and Private International Law
– Creative Economy, Innovation and Law
– Contemporary Issues in Intellectual Property Laws — A Social Networking Perspective