University of Wrocław

Breslau, situated in Wroclaw, is with 630,000 inhabitants the fourth largest city in Poland. It is situated southern to a local range of hills at the river Oder approximately 150 kilometers from the German border. The city is built on 12 islands in between several channels. The city parts are connected by numerous bars and bridges. Because of its location and design Wroclaw is also called “Poland´s Venice”. In addition, it is considered the greenest city in the country.

Not only due to its unique old town and its romantic atmosphere but also because of its numerous attractions Wroclaw is a popular tourist destination. In its historic center it contains the second largest medieval market square in Europe, many Gothic churches, and the symbol of the city: the Wroclaw City Hall. On the other side of the Oder one finds the Cathedral Island, which is a recreational area off the tourist period with excellent hiking paths. The Cathedral offers a magnificent view over the city. In addition, one finds in many other sights Wroclaw because of its long and varied history. Among others there is the Centennial Hall, which has been declared a protected UNESCO World Heritage Site. Besides the cultural attractions the city also offers variety of leisure facilities especially for young people. Numerous clubs, bars and pubs make Wroclaw´s nightlife incredibly interesting and the almost 141,000 students of various higher education institutions ensure that the city also remains alive all night.

 

Breslau

(Bildquelle: BernieCB; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

Breslau

(Bildquelle: Adam Smok; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

University of Wroclaw

The University of Wroclaw was founded in 1702 as a German university and was reintroduced as a Polish university in 1946. The university has today 10 faculties, including the Faculty of Law, Business and Economics, which are visited by a total of approximately 35,000 students. In 2001 “German Polish Society of the University of Wroclaw” was founded with the objective to feature international understanding and the transfer of knowledge. It is primarily engaged with the administration of student exchanges and scholarships.
More information is available on the website of the University of Wrocław.

Academic year:
– Winter semester from early October to mid-February
– Summer semester from mid-February to mid-June
– No major holiday period between winter and summer semester

Academic language: English

IT and IP-related courses:
– Approach to Legal IT
– Intellectual Property Law

University of Wrocław

Breslau, im polnischen Wroclaw, ist mit 630.000 Einwohnern die viertgrößte Stadt Polens und liegt ca. 150 Kilometer von der deutschen Grenze entfernt südlich des Katzengebirges an der Oder. Die Stadt liegt auf 12 Inseln zwischen vielen Kanälen, die mit zahlreichen Stegen und Brücken verbunden sind, und wird daher wegen ihrer Lage und Bauart auch als Polens Venedig bezeichnet. Außerdem gilt sie als grünste Stadt des Landes.

Breslau ist aufgrund der einzigartigen Altstadt und seiner romantischen Atmosphäre ein beliebtes Reiseziel, was die Stadt vor allem ihren vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten zu verdanken hat. In ihrer Altstadt befinden sich der zweitgrößte Mittelaltermarktplatz Europas, viele gotische Kirchen, sowie das Wahrzeichen der Stadt, das Breslauer Rathaus. Auf der anderen Seite der Oder findet man die Dominsel, die abseits der Touristenzeit ein Nacherholungsort mit schönen Spazierwegen ist. Der Dom bietet einen herrlichen Ausblick über die Stadt. Darüber hinaus findet man in Breslau aufgrund seiner langen und abwechslungsreichen Geschichte noch viele weitere Sehenswürdigkeiten, unter anderem die Jahrhunderthalle, welche von der UNSECO zum Weltkulturerbe erklärt wurde. Neben Kultur gibt es aber auch gerade für junge Menschen ein vielfältiges Freizeitangebot. Zahlreiche Clubs, Bars und Pubs machen Breslaus Nachtleben unglaublich interessant. Die knapp 141.000 Studenten der unterschiedlichen Hochschulen sorgen dafür, dass die Stadt auch nachts immer lebendig bleibt.

Breslau

(Bildquelle: BernieCB; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

Breslau

(Bildquelle: Adam Smok; Bild steht unter einer Creative Commons-Lizenz.)

Universität Wroclaw

Die Universität Wroclaw wurde bereits 1702 als deutsche Hochschule gegründet, bevor sie 1946 als polnische Hochschule neu eingeführt wurde. Die Universität hat heute insgesamt 10 Fakultäten, unter anderem die Fakultät für Recht, Wirtschaft und Ökonomie, welche insgesamt ca. 35.000 Studenten besuchen. 2001 wurde mit dem Ziel der Völkerverständigung und dem Wissenstransfer die „Deutsch Polnische Gesellschaft der Universität Wroclaw“ gegründet, welche sich vor allem mit dem studentischen Austausch und den Stipendien beschäftigt.

Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Homepage der University of Wrocław.

Semesterzeiten:
– Wintersemester von Anfang Oktober bis Mitte Februar
– Sommersemester von Mitte Februar bis Mitte Juni
– Keine längere Ferienzeit zwischen Winter- und Sommersemester

Studiensprache: Englisch

Kurse mit IT- und IP-Bezug:
– Approach to Legal IT
– Intellectual Property Law